Skip to main content

What is the difference between Carat and Karat?

Diamond size is measured in Carat (Carat / Weight, 1 Carat = 0.20 gr.).

The purity of gold is measured in Karat. 100% pure gold is too soft for jewelry. Therefore, it is used in alloys with silver, palladium, copper and zinc.

  • 24 karat is stamped 24K or 999 (99.9% gold).
  • 22 and 21 karat are stamped 22K and 21K (seen in the Middle East).
  • 18 karat is stamped 18K or 750 (75% gold + 25% alloy material).
  • 14 karat is stamped 14K or 585 (58.5% gold + 41.5% alloy material).8 karat is stamped 8K or 333 (33.3% gold + 66.7% alloy material).

What does the four C's mean?

Color - Clarity – Cut - Carat (Carat / Weight, 1 Carat = 0.20 gr.)

What is a diamond?

Diamonds have been formed approx. 250 kilometers below the surface of the Earth by the element coal, which has been exposed to high heat and high pressure through millions of years. The diamond is one of the hardest materials available.

The anatomy of the cut diamond:

A) The diameter of the diamond is measured from one side to the other on the Girdle.
B) The Table is the name of the diamond’s top and is the largest facette.
C) The Crown is the upper part of the diamond which stretches from Table to Girdle.
D) The Girdle is a narrow, curved and round edge separating the Crown from the Pavilion.
E) The Pavilion is the lower part of the diamond which stretches from the Girdle to the Culet.
F) The Culet is the small facet on the base/tip of the diamond. It should not be visible with the naked eye.
G) The depth of the diamond is measured from Table to Culet.

Which shapes of diamonds can I get?

You can choose between these diamond shapes.
Round – Princess – Oval – Marquise – Pear – Cushion – Emerald – Asher – Radiant – Heart.

How can I see if a diamond is of a good quality?

GIA and the traditional grading designation describe in the following table the quality of the diamonds: Color – Clarity – Cut – Carat.

Do colored diamonds exist?

In the lower part of the color palettes (GIA: I – J – K – L – M – N / The Traditional: Top Crystal – Crystal – Top Cape – Cape) diamonds with shades of yellow or brown colors are found, these are called champagne colored diamonds and are usually traded at lower prices than colorless diamonds. However, please note that if the yellow and brown colors are strong and deep, these diamonds, together with red, pink, blue and green, are called “fancy colored” diamonds and are very valuable.

Does a color scheme for fancy colored diamonds exist?

There is an American scale that describes color intensity. It starts with the lowest and lesser color saturation: Faint – Very Light – Light – Fancy Light – Fancy – Fancy Intense – Fancy Vivid – Fancy Dark – Fancy Deep.

Which diamond should I choose to get the most for the money?

Choose Color: GIA rating; F – G – H – I – J / Traditional rating; Top Wesselton – Wesselton – Top Crystal – Crystal.

Choose Clarity: GIA rating VVS1 – VVS2 – VS1 – VS2 / CIBJO rating VVS – VS.

Choose Cut: Very Good – Good. Many gemmologists believe that Cut is the most important issue because a perfectly cut diamond reflects the light and achieves the best brilliance.

Choose Carat: The size depends on your budget, but by compromising with Color – Clarity – Cut, you can get a higher Carat.